Honesty Is The Best Policy…

It has been quite a while since I’ve posted. There are several reasons. The primary reason is simply this: I haven’t been swimming. No, I don’t mean I haven’t been swimming much. I don’t mean I haven’t been swimming enough yards. I mean: I HAVE NOT BEEN SWIMMING…AT ALL!I haven’t been in the water since Thanksgiving!

There are several excuses for this (notice I did not say “reasons”). First, my practice has gotten busier since Thanksgiving. Second, my office changed locations (closer to home) and now it is not as easy for me to go out to the West Y to swim in the 50 meter pool. I have been working towards my goal of swimming the Channel for a few years now and, honestly, I was burnt out. I was struggling with doing what needs to be done to achieve my (admittedly selfish) goal of swimming the Channel and putting our daughter through college. (My responsibility to Allie…my love of Allie…my desire as a father…have come to the front of my mind.)

Just today it finally “clicked” for me! Swimming is FUN! No matter if I cannot get out easily to the West Y for the 50 meter pool. No matter the stress of work. No matter the daunting goal of swimming the Channel. Swimming is FUN!

And so, today, I have decided to get back in the pool. My first day back will be Saturday. I’ll swim 4-5 days a week. I’ve got plenty of workouts to do…

Stay tuned!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honesty Is The Best Policy…

  1. reverieremy says:

    I’m inspired by your dedication, keep at it!

Leave a Reply

