Not So Fast, My Friend!

The “shout-out” to Lee Corso of ESPN’s College Gameday that is the title to this post seemed appropriate as we approach the beginning of college football season. It is also apropos of my swim in Lucky Peak this past Sunday.

To say I have been “spoiled” by my swimming in Clocktower and Veteran’s ponds would, I think, be an understatement. Although Veteran’s is clearly the “cooler” of the two bodies of water, both are relatively peaceful, calm and temped at this time of year. To swim 1 loop of Clocktower is about .62 miles; one lap of Veteran’s is about .5 miles.

On Sunday, Michelle and I went up to Lucky Peak Reservoir. As the name implies, it is a large body of water. It is also notoriously windy in the mornings. Sure enough, we arrived on site and the “breeze” was blowing. There weren’t any whitecaps, so it actually has been worse!

As we were preparing to get into the water (Michelle on the Versa Board), me to swim, one of the kite-surfers asked: “How long you going to swim”? To which I replied: “2 and one-half hours.” I won’t tell you what his response was!

Oh, back to the “spoiled” swimmer I have become. The water was “cool” at the start and just seemed to get cooler as I progressed. I never seemed to hit a “warm” pocket. The waves and “breeze” were challenging and, quite frankly, energy-sapping. That being said, I fed on schedule (although I could have used more nutrition for a swim of that intensity). I also swam 2:28 and change…less than 2 minutes off my goal time. The downside: I “only” swam 3.72 miles. Not nearly far enough in the time I was in the water. You can click here for a satellite image of my swim.

Lesson learned: Don’t get “lazy” by swimming in calm water all the time. The English Channel will not be calm or warm. Push yourself out of your comfort zone.

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Open Water Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

