What The Heck…Why Not Push Myself!

Last week I completed (competed) in the Deer Creek Open Water 5k swim. When I got home I immediately began searching for more open water swims to get under my belt before the dreaded winter arrives in the Rocky Mountain West. As you can imagine, the pickin’s are generally pretty slim in this part of the world for open water swims. But ain’t the inter-web a wonderful invention!

I hopped on the Google machine and began my search. I found an event and e-mailed my swim coach about it. My concern…the race has a 10k swim (another 5k just wouldn’t do at this point). Could I swim that far? Am I just being silly in wanting to get another race under my belt? My coach, Marcia Cleveland, said: go for it and, so, I did!

I registered for the C.A.S.T (Coeur d’Alene Area Swim Team) 10k swim on August 27. The cutoff time is 3:30; this won’t give me much time if I swim as I did at Deer Creek. I’ll have to push myself. That is a good thing. Reaching and challenging myself is what this journey is all about, right??

I’ll let you all know how it goes!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Open Water Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What The Heck…Why Not Push Myself!

  1. Kay Grant says:

    wowsers!! That’s a long swim. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

