Deer Creek Open Water 5k Race Report

Deer Creek OW Swim 2011

Let me just say: The drive was worth it. The Deer Creek Open Water Marathon Swim folks put on a heck of an event!

The weather was darn-near perfect. Michelle did us all proud by being the only SUP support craft at the event. I tell you, every time I took a breath toward her side, I had to smile a little because she just looked so darned “majestic” on her SUP!

As far as my performance goes, I felt good during the race. For the first half, I tried to settle in to a pace that was towards the upper-end of my “go all day” pace. Once I hit the turn-around buoy (the race was an out-and-back), I tried to pick it up some. I knew I still had a fair way to go, so I didn’t go all out…just yet.

With less than 880 yards (.5 miles), I eyed a swimmer close to me and sped up. I switched to breathing on every 2nd stroke. I tried to sight for the shortest line to the final corner. Had I followed Michelle’s directions (which, in all honesty, I did not see), my line would have been better. At the end, the swimmer who I was trying to best, got the best of me by about 14 seconds.

My finish time: 1:42:34. I am pretty proud of the time for a few reasons: (1) I shaved 12 seconds per 100 yards off of my training time, which is a hefty chunk of time; and (2) I came in 2nd overall for the non-wetsuit men–for results, click here.

After the swim - Deer Creek 5k 2011

Michelle and I also figured out a few things as far as teamwork is concerned, the most important is communication. We are going to get a white board for Michelle to use to give me direction and feedback during swims like this (and my training swims as well). As you can probably imagine, it is pretty difficult to communicate when one person is looking at you for only a split second. The other thing I figured out is to “trust” Michelle. She had the perfect line picked out for me. I just didn’t know she was going to do that!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Open Water Swimming, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Deer Creek Open Water 5k Race Report

  1. gords says:

    Nice job John. Glad you enjoyed it. What’s next for you?

  2. Matt Gerrish says:

    Great swim, John. I’m so glad you were there with me for the final stretch. You gave me a lot of extra motivation and pushed me a little harder than I probably would have otherwise done. I will say that you scared the crap out of me, though. Haha. I was just chugging along, looked up and all the sudden you were right in front of me when I thought I was all by myself. Hope to see you at another swim. Perhaps Slam the Dam?

    • Matt – you also had a great swim. I must tell you, I was really trying to beat you! It looks like motivation is a 2-way street! I’ll have to look into Slam the Dam. I travel from Boise, Idaho, so it’s a bit of a deal for me to get down that way. That being said, there just aren’t much in the way of open water swims in Boise (and by “not much in the way” I mean hardly any…

      • You should start up a group for going up to Lucky Peak. I did the 70.3 there last summer and that seems like a nice enough place to swim and I know there are a bunch of OW swimmers in Boise. Kira Pfisterer kicked my butt last year in the 10 mile and she supposedly is from up there. Would the masters group up there support putting on an OW race? I’d definitely drive up for that! As long as it wasn’t on a Sunday.

  3. Norb says:

    Great job John!! You had a fantastic race. You are fortunate to have such an awesome teammate in Michelle. Well done Mickey!! Keep up the terrific work, John.

  4. Pingback: C.A.S.T. 10k Race Report | The Journey To My English Channel Swim

Leave a Reply

