Making The “Same” Feel “Different”

As you can imagine, training to swim the English Channel requires…lots of swimming! This morning I made the same old Clocktower Pond feel different. It made my normally enjoyable morning swim even more so today.

How can I make a pond “different” you ask? Well, it was actually at my coach, Marcia Cleveland’s suggestion. I simply split up my 4 lap swim into counter-clockwise and clockwise laps. On the odd number laps, I swam counter-clockwise; on the even laps, I swam clockwise. Simple, right??!! Why didn’t I think of that!!

It can be easy to take each workout for granted and become complacent. This morning I knew I was going to swim 4 laps at Clocktower Pond. What I didn’t know was how the same workout I have been doing for weeks became different simply by changing direction!

This Sunday, I’m slated to swim 6 laps at Clocktower. I’m going to mix it up even more. I will have Michelle hold up a white board telling me which direction to swim for each lap. This way, I have no idea from one lap to the next, where I am going. It should be interesting!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them! Oh, and don’t be afraid to change things up once-in-a-while. You may be surprised how different the “same” feels when you do!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

