Deer Creek Open Water 5K Swim…Here I Come!

In my continuing quest to expand my horizons in the world of open water swimming, I have registered for the Deer Creek Open Water Marathon Swim – 5k non-wetsuit division. The race will take place on Saturday, August 13, 2011, in, of all places, Deer Creek Reservoir, just outside of Heber, Utah.

Although I swam the Governor’s Island Swim last summer as my 1st “official” open water swim of my English Channel quest, I think Deer Creek will be a different step along the journey for a few reasons. First, obviously, the distance is greater. While Governor’s Island was a 2 mile swim; Deer Creek is a 5k or 3.1 mile event. Second, Governor’s Island was a salt water swim; Deer Creek is fresh water. This makes a difference in buoyancy. It’ll be more challenging to maintain correct body position at Deer Creek. Third, Deer Creek requires me to have a safety paddler at my side for the race. This will be a chance for my lovely wife, Michelle, to paddle our Liquid Logic Versa Board during a race. Finally, I plan on beginning work on my nutrition while in the water for this race.

Deer Creek will be a challenge; one I accept without hesitation! After all, due to its location, I’m certain I’ll have the opportunity for an enjoyable swim during which I can learn. A trip to Rubio’s in Salt Lake City, Utah, is also a side benefit!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Open Water Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

