What Was I So Afraid Of?

I have been considering swimming with a USMS Masters swim group at my local YMCA. The group meets most mornings, but on Tuesdays and Thursdays, the swim is in a 50-meter pool. I like the idea of swimming 50 meters before I have to perform a flip turn for several reasons: (1) I believe it mimics open-water swimming where, obviously, there are no flip turns — you can’t use the wall to speed up; and (2) honestly, my flip turns aren’t the best! My fear of joining the Masters group was simply this: there are some really excellent swimmers! I didn’t want to feel out-of-place by being super slow, having bad flip turns and, generally, not knowing what I was doing!

Last week, I shared my concerns with my lovely bride, Michelle. She looked at me aghast and said: “(1) You are a good swimmer; (2) If you are going to swim the English Channel, don’t you think it would benefit you to swim with the Masters; and (3) You’re a friggin Ironman!” Well, with Michelle’s prodding, I attended my 1st Masters swim this morning at 5:15 a.m. (truth be told, I was 5 minutes late and didn’t get into the water until 5:20) at the West YMCA here in Boise. It was AWESOME!

The coach on deck had a solid workout — it even included some backstroke. She was kind, thoughtful and approachable. She explained the drills and unfamiliar stuff to me in a way I could understand. She kept an eye on me and “coached me up.” We chatted about her philosophy after the workout; it’s a philosophy I agree with…get the form right and the rest will follow. The swimmers were just as friendly as could be.

It just goes to show you: (1) getting out of your comfort zone every now and again is critical; and (2) fear of the unknown vanishes the instant the thing is no longer “unknown”! I know I’ll learn a lot from swimming with the Masters group. I plan on swimming Tuesday and Thursday mornings (and I will be in the pool early!).

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything (even trying something that makes you uncomfortable) in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Was I So Afraid Of?

  1. Kay Grant says:

    atta boy

Leave a Reply

