So Long Ironman (For Now)…Hello Swimming Focus!

Ironman Coeur d'Alene 2011 Swim Start - Courtesy of Alyssa Smith

One week ago, on June 26, 2011, I completed my 3rd and, for now, final, Ironman triathlon. Ironman Coeur d’Alene was an awesome race. I rediscovered what it means to push my body further than I thought possible. My result: 13:43 was not what I had hoped for, but after reflection, I am pleased with my effort.

After I decided to attempt an English Channel swim in 2013, I realized I would have to put my massive amounts of cross-training for Ironman on hold eventually. In order to get the mileage of swimming in to properly and adequately prepare for my Channel attempt, work and spend time with my family and friends, something would have to give. Those “somethings” are lots of time in the saddle of my bike and running. Now, that is not to say I won’t be riding and running!! I think I would go a little crazy if I didn’t continue to do those things. Now, and for the next 2 years, swimming will be my primary focus.

I will be forever thankful for the patience and support my family and friends have given me in pursuing my Ironman dreams. I know they are all “on board” for the next challenge…preparing for and successfully completing my English Channel attempt in 2013. Training re-starts Tuesday!!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

