Keeping It Real – There’s No Substitute For Time In The Water

You know, when I decided to attempt to swim the English Channel, I had one thing I thought I could count on…my swimming. So much so that I began to take my progress in the pool for granted. I was very comfortable in the water and progressing nicely.

In the past couple of months, in preparation for my Ironman Coeur d’Alene race on June 26, 2011, I let my swimming take a “back seat” to my other training and, frankly, my life. Really, I was thinking, I’ve got the swimming down for IMCDA, what’s the big deal? I thought I had put enough time in the pool and was confident in my abilities. I’m here to tell you: the water is not so forgiving or forgetting!

What I mean is this: I am now back in the water on a regular basis (2 times so far this week) and my workouts have gotten TOUGH! Times I was swimming before with relative ease are now quite difficult, if not impossible to achieve. I am humbled! What was I thinking??!!!!

I’ve got about 45 days until my Ironman event. I’m going to stick to my scheduled 3-4 times a week in the water. I will get back what I lost. After Coeur d’Alene I will continue with my ramped-up swimming schedule (along with some biking/running for pleasure).

I’ve signed up for one of my swimming races this summer, the La Jolla Rough Water Swim, which will be a total of 4 miles in the ocean. I need to get serious again about my swimming, and I will!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them! Remember, even the smallest step forward is a step closer to your goal.

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

