Every Now And Then A Break Is Necessary

By my calculation, I have approximately 863 days until the window opens on my English Channel 2013 swim. I have, until recently, been swimming consistently and somewhat aggressively, hitting the pool 3-4 or sometimes 5 times a week. Well, stack that on top of my Ironman Coeur d’Alene 2011 bike and run training and you have quite a full week! (Of course, I also work full-time!) So, I have given myself a break over the past few weeks. Do I feel guilty? A little. Am I worried that this will be detrimental to my preparations? A little. Am I glad I have taken time to re-group? Absolutely!

With so much time until my “goal” race, I needed a physical and mental break. I’m about to “get back on the horse” having been mentally re-charged. Right around the corner (well, a few months away, anyway) will be the ability to mix it up and get some open water swimming time in. I’ve got Ironman Coeur d’Alene in around 103 days. I have open water swims at the end of July in Oregon and in the middle of September in San Diego. My focus has returned. I am looking forward to getting back in the pool and chasing that black line.

I believe it is necessary to take a break every now and then. So long as the break is meaningful and the consequences are thoroughly considered, it is not a bad thing. Training the mind and the body comes with a price. The take away lesson: don’t over do it! Even if you do not suffer a physical “injury,” your psyche may be “sprained.”

Until next time…stay focused in your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them…even taking a break every now and then is a step to goal-achievement!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

