In A Rut?? Change It Up!

I swim between 3 and 5 days a week right now. (This is in addition to my bike and run training…at least until Ironman Coeur d’Alene on June 26, 2011!) I really like swimming in the early morning hours; it’s a great way to start my day. Also, it is easy to get a lane at the West Y. Swimming at the same time everyday can, however, get me in a “rut.”

Yesterday, I stepped out of my comfort zone. I swam after work, beginning at 5:45 p.m. Was it tougher to get a lane? Yes. Was the whole “vibe” different? Definitely – the pool was packed with youth swim team members and swim lessons! Was it tough to get motivated for the swim after a long day at the office? It sure was. I overcame all of these “obstacles” and got a good, focused, fun swim in, though!

Who knows what time of day my English Channel attempt will start or end? No one at this point. That means I need to be mentally prepared to swim anytime — day or night. Changing up my training times surely will help!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

