It Is Always Good To Check The Long-Range Plan!

As you know from a previous post, I am being coached for my English Channel 2013 attempt by Marcia Cleveland. One of the very first things Marcia did for me, way back in August 2010, was to put together a “Long Term Plan” for my training over the next 3-or-so years. I hadn’t looked at that Plan in a while and, on a whim, decided to “dust it off” (actually, open the electronic file) and take a look at it. Boy, am I glad I did! It seems, I’m either “ahead of schedule” or “over training,” depending on how you look at it.

Another thing Marcia does for me is give me regularly scheduled training plans which provide a variety of workouts to do. I really enjoy these workouts; they mix things up and keep me from getting bored chasing that black line at the bottom of the pool. Unfortunately, I am left to my own devices to plug an individual workout into my day or week. My enthusiasm has led me to, perhaps, over-schedule my swim time. For example, on the Long Term Plan, I’m supposed to be swimming 3-4 times per week with a total yardage of around 10,000 yards in January 2011. This week, I’ve got myself slated for 5 swims and a total yardage of 22,900 yards. This is clearly more than the Long Term Plan called for!!

I’ve got an e-mail in to Marcia asking her what to do. If I’m “ahead of the curve” on my training, that’s acceptable. If I’m “over training” and risking injury, fatigue and loss of focus, that’s a BIG problem! I’ll let you know what Marcia says!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Is Always Good To Check The Long-Range Plan!

  1. IMKid says:

    Whoa! Easy big fella…sounds like you need to slow down a bit! Good work!!

Leave a Reply

