Know When To Fold ‘Em And “Fight” Another Day

Ever have one of those days in your training? A day when you initially feel good at the start, but very shortly feel bad? Lack of energy, lethargic, unable to mentally focus, unable to push? There are, of course, two totally different things you can do: (1) Keep going through the workout and get in some “junk” miles; or (2) Recognize today just isn’t your day and call it good. Today, I picked the latter.

Choosing to scrap a workout isn’t easy for me. I like to put that little check mark next to each and every workout. I enjoy logging my actual time and swim TSS for each workout. Heck, I like the feeling at the end of the workout, after my cool down swim! Nothing beats it. There are times, though, when “powering through” a workout just isn’t smart. It takes just as much “strength” knowing when to call it a day and when to keep going.

I’ll “fight” another day. Actually, I’ll “fight” tomorrow!! Training for the English Channel is truly a marathon endeavor…it is not a sprint. Although each and every workout is important, beating myself up over one bad workout isn’t going to get me any closer to my goal. It has taken me many years to come to this realization. I have my friend and former triathlon coach Michelle StanWiens of Performance High here in Boise to thank for helping me realize the wisdom in this philosophy.

Until next time: Stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them (even if that means stopping a workout)!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

