Little Things Can Get The Heart Racing

In a previous post, I wrote about breaking the mammoth task that is attempting to swim the English Channel down into smaller goals along the way. I still believe in this method and continue to practice it. There are some things, both large and small, however, that make the goal seem ever-present. There are some things that really bring the enormity of the challenge “home.”

Starting this blog is one such “thing.” Corresponding with, and reserving my spot with Reg Brickell and working with my swim coach/advisor Marcia Cleveland are, of course, others. I would put these things in the “large things” category.

Today, I did something on in the “small thing” arena. While I was browsing the Channel Swimming Association’s December 2010 Newsletter, I came across a reference to the “Sandettie Buoy.” Apparently, this buoy is mid-channel and provides various readings, including air/water temperature among others.

I was intrigued. Was there a way I could access this data? Under the heading of “ain’t the internet a wonderful thing,” I simply “Googled” the Sandettie Lightship buoy and, viola, there it was! In case you are wondering, the latest water temperature from today is 44.2 degrees Fahrenheit (chilly by any standard). I have now added the feed from the buoy to my Google homepage. I’ll tell you, doing so made my heart race just a little bit!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything
in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Things Can Get The Heart Racing

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Little Things Can Get The Heart Racing | The Journey To My English Channel Swim -- Topsy.com

  2. Michelle Kormanik says:

    I gotta tell you, this makes my heartrate go up as well……..

Leave a Reply

