Another Member Of My English Channel 2013 Team

As you probably know, an attempt at the English Channel, although a “solo” swim, is far from a lonely challenge. In prior blog posts, I identified several members of my “team.” I am ready to announce yet another member: Swim Coach Marcia Cleveland.

Choosing a swim coach for an endeavor such as an English Channel attempt is a very personal process. I believe it is also one of the most critical decisions to be made. If the swimmer and coach are not on the same page, success will be more difficult.

I decided on Marcia as my swim coach for several reasons: (1) she is a successful channel swimmer herself; (2) when we initially spoke, she and I seemed extremely compatible; (3) she is a “long-range” planner…about 2 weeks after our initial conversation, she had a proposed plan to get me successfully through my attempt in 2013, broken down by weekly yardage goals per month as well as some potential training swims; and (4) she has connections here in Boise to be her eyes and track my progress. Since my initial selection, Marcia and I have spoken on a monthly basis and have exchanged numerous e-mails. I am sure as my training ramps up, our communication will do so as well.

Marcia’s website, Dover Solo, is a good starting point and a way to get in touch with her, should you wish. Personally, I find Marcia’s willingness to coach me, and become a member of my team, to be quite remarkable given her status as a successful Channel swimmer and author. I am truly fortunate to have her on my team!

Until next time…stay focused on your goals and do everything in your power to achieve them!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Member Of My English Channel 2013 Team

  1. Pingback: It Is Always Good To Check The Long-Range Plan! | The Journey To My English Channel Swim

Leave a Reply

