One Door Closes…Another One Opens

As you may know, I began my triathlon “career” back in 2008 when I began training for Ironman 70.3 Boise. (A 70.3 triathlon consists of a 1.2 mile swim/56 mile bike/13.1 mile run.) When the race was first announced, and Michelle and I decided to enter (I believe it was in September 2007), I went to a well-known national bookseller and picked up a book on triathlon training. I mean, how hard could it be…right??

The answer to that question is: It can be PLENTY hard! There are so many variables and things to program into a proper 70.3 training program; we were overwhelmed. What to do? We decided to go to an information session that a local Level 2 USAT (USA Triathlon) coach was putting on in the basement of our local YMCA. That level 2 coach’s name: Michelle StanWiens; her company is Performance High, LLC. I have been training with “Coach Michelle” ever since. That’s 3 70.3 races (Boise 2008 and 2010; Oceanside 2010); as well as 1.8 full Ironman-distance  events (Coeur d’Alene 2009 and Arizona 2010). Of course an “Ironman-distance” event is 2.4 mile swim/112 mile bike/26.2 mile run.

The reason I say “1.8 full Ironman-distance events” is this: because of my goal of swimming the English Channel, I have enlisted the services of a well-respected swim coach (more on her at a later date). Also, I am working with Douglas Tobin of Endurance Training and Fitness Center on my cycling. Coach Michelle finally said: “Are you sure you still need me”? What a question!!

After considering where I am and where I am going, Coach Michelle and I have decided I have outgrown her coaching services. It was a difficult decision to make: she and I have become friends who have learned much from each other over these past 2.5 years. I must say, it takes a special coach to recognize when an athlete may no longer “need” that coach. For that, I am very grateful! So, the door to my coaching relationship with Coach Michelle has “closed,” at least for now. I’ll still rely on her to bounce ideas off of in the future because our friendship is by no means over! I would also say, if you are in the market for a first-rate coach, you could do no better, in my opinion, than Coach Michelle.

Oh, the other door that is opening…Well, that has to do with my swim coach and the program she has outlined for me to successfully achieve my goal of swimming the English Channel in 2013. Stay tuned for that announcement; suffice it to say: I am thrilled to have such a well-respected and accomplished swimmer agree to coach me!

Until next time…

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

