Fundraising for the Surfrider Foundation

For those of you who have visited my blog before, you will notice a new “button” in the right-hand side of the page. For those new to my blog, I have one simple question: “Where have you been”?

I have chosen to feature the Surfrider Foundation as my charity of choice for my English Channel swim. You may ask: “Why the Surfrider Foundation”? From the Foundation’s website: “The Surfrider Foundation is a non-profit grassroots organization dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of our world’s oceans, waves and beaches. Founded in 1984 by a handful of visionary surfers in Malibu, California, the Surfrider Foundation now maintains over 50,000 members and 90 chapters worldwide.” The Surfrider Foundation’s Mission Statement certainly jibes with my Channel swimming odyssey: “The Surfrider Foundation is a non-profit environmental organization dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of the world’s oceans, waves and beaches for all people, through conservation, activism, research and education.”

Frankly, training for and successfully completing a swim across the English Channel is a selfish endeavor. I will be taking time away from my family and friends to train. I will be spending a good sum of money both to train for and complete my swim. I will be swimming in oceans and harbors both in the United States and England.

As the saying goes: “To whom much is given, much is required.” I believe wholeheartedly in this thought. I have been given much and am truly blessed. If you feel so inclined, click on the Surfrider Foundation link at the side of the page. Check them out and explore their website. If you are so moved, make a donation or, better yet, get a membership. The money you give will help me to succeed in my goal!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Fundraising. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

