Gulp – I’m Registered For My 1st Official Open Water Swim

Governors Island - Courtesy of Columbia College

Once I decided to swim the English Channel, I became aware of a whole new community of people and events in the open water swimming universe. Because my family and I are traveling to the NJ/NY area this summer, I thought I would look and see if there were any open water swims to participate in. I discovered an organization called “NYC Swim,” which organizes swims in the NY area. The “big kahuna” put on by NYC Swim is the “Manhattan Island Marathon Swim or “MIMS.” The MIMS is a 28 mile swim around, you guessed it, the island of Manhattan.

No, I did not sign up for the MIMS! Instead, I registered for the “Governors Island” swim. The GIS is a 2 mile open water swim around Governors Island in the New York Harbor off of lower Manhattan. I’ll be doing this swim in true “open water” fashion…no wetsuit. I won’t, however, be solo on this swim…my lovely wife Michelle is also registered. Can you think of a better way to spend a Sunday morning in August in NYC?

Just another step (or swim) on the journey!

About John R Kormanik

Husband, father, attorney, multiple Ironman, aspiring English Channel swimmer
This entry was posted in Open Water Swimming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gulp – I’m Registered For My 1st Official Open Water Swim

  1. Norb says:

    You and Michelle will do great John!! Can’t wait to hear the stories.
    Next year: MIMS, right?

  2. Jeff says:

    Go get em’ IMJ…it’s super Michelle will join you on this swim. Maybe MIMS after the channel? You inspire me.

Leave a Reply

